Just add digital to every release__

Usability and performance are decisive criteria for the acceptance of Interfaces. Particularly in the consumer sector, digital services are no longer used if they do not meet the user’s requirements for user-friendliness and performance. Also in the B2B environment, the intensity of use of an application depends on the user experience. Especially for enterprise software, the range of functions and efficient usability are critical for success and are therefore an essential part of quality controlling.

This is why outsourcing software testing is the best option__

  • Relieving development teams and focusing on software development 
  • Increased employee satisfaction, as the testing, which is often unpleasant for development teams, is carried out by specialized testers.
  • Efficient testing by certified experts
  • Testing using an extensive and always up-to-date pool of test equipment
  • External quality assurance through testing prevents operational blindness
  • Qualified test and bug reports result in faster release cycles

Services in the area of Software Testing__

Not only the professional app development is important for the success of a mobile application, but also the testing of mobile apps. An app should not only be tested before a release, but also continuously for functionality, usability, compatibility and performance under different conditions. This applies in particular to mobile software that integrates device-specific features such as the camera function, gyroscope, altitude measurement or geolocation data. With such apps, full functionality can often only be checked manually.

However, manual testing is time-consuming and requires the provision of a large and always up-to-date equipment pool. The use of an external testing service provider enables significant increases in efficiency. At Almato, certified app testing specialists test all relevant device types and operating systems (extensive device pool). Customers receive high-quality and directly implementable test results for their development teams.

  • Consulting with regard to possible test procedures
  • Test organization and control
  • Creation of test plans and test cases
  • Manual Testing
  • Testing with emulators and virtual devices
  • Test automation
  • Crowd testing
  • Provision of test device pool (new and older models with different operating system versions)
  • ISTQB-certified testers with the necessary know-how in related topics such as app development and UX design
  • Agreement of service levels for the execution of tests
  • Documentation of errors and improvement potentials as well as identified usability problems and comments on performance and compatibility

Manual app testing__

Manual tests

In addition to automated app testing using emulators and simulators, manual testing offers many advantages. Mobile solutions offer additional added value using device-specific functions such as temperature sensors, gyroscopes, height measurement and geolocation data. However, these features can only be checked for their actual functionality by manual testing. In addition, different mobile radio networks have a significant influence on the performance and thus the usability of mobile applications.

Component test

Testing individual modules, programs, objects or classes regarding functional and non-functional aspects before implementing a component in an app (test-driven development). In the context of unit testing, robustness tests and tests regarding the use of resources such as memory are carried out. Tried and tested unit test frameworks and debugging tools are used.

Integration test

Carrying out component and system integration tests to ensure interface functionality and to check the smooth interaction of individual components and/or systems such as operating systems, databases, infrastructure, configuration and hardware.

System test

Functional and non-functional testing of the overall system: As a rule, the test cases are based on the functional and technical specifications as well as the defined use cases of the app to be tested. For this purpose, both black box test design procedures for checking the functional requirements and white box procedures for structural analysis are used.

Acceptance test

In order to carry out the acceptance test, test teams take the user’s perspective in order to check the usability of the overall system. Acceptance tests are usually carried out for the initial rollout, functional enhancements or as part of component tests.

Explorative test

The extensive experience of our ISTQB-certified testers enables explorative testing of mobile applications. Within the framework of error guessing (intuitive test case determination), the test design is created, executed and logged almost simultaneously. Thus, explorative testing is particularly suitable for development projects with high time pressure and little specified requirements.

Static test

In addition to the tests on the app itself, we also carry out static analyses such as reviews (also as part of pair programming), walkthroughs or inspections. These offer the possibility to detect and correct errors in requirements, UX concepts or codes already in the early development phase. Early intervention can significantly reduce development time and costs. Our range of services includes the analysis of specifications, UX/UI concepts, source code, apps and web applications.

Regression testing

Particularly in agile projects, the implementation of regression tests is one of our standard procedures. Repeated testing after modifications or debugging prevents new errors from occurring or existing errors from taking effect as a result of the adjustments made.

Crowdtesting
  • Extensive testing of various operating systems and device types with almost complete variant coverage
  • Development of test cases
  • Setup and integration of the test environment
  • Use of software-as-a-service test platforms and, if required, virtual testing teams for
  • Execution of crowdtesting
  • Documentation of test results
Digital-Enterprise:-Alle-Elemente-zur-digitalen-Transformation

Test types__

Test types (extract)

  • Black box test (e.g. function test, compatibility test, integration test)
  • Code review
  • Load test/performance test
  • Safety test
  • Stress test
  • Usability test (usability test)
  • Usability review according to DIN EN ISO 9241-110
  • Maintenance test
  • White box test

Accessibility-Testing according to WCAG 2.0

Software testing of mobile applications with regard to accessibility according to WCAG 2.0 and BITV 2.0. Software testing and the corresponding consideration in app development offers the following advantages:

  • Increased range
  • Optimized User Experience
  • Increased customer satisfaction
  • Increased software quality
  • Improved performance
  • Lower dropout rate
 

UX-Review – Testing the usability of software__

Almato analyses the efficiency of user interfaces against the background of the respective user journey and usage contexts of digital products. The systematic testis carried out by certified UX experts. The focus is on the analysis of the user experience for the respective purpose. The team works on the basis of international standards such as UXQB, UXPA, German UPA and examines apps, websites, prototypes or individually developed software. With checklists and heuristics, common usability rules are applied on the basis of 7 criteria and user interfaces to be tested are checked with regard to design and usability. The focus is on the efficiency and effectiveness of the digitally mapped process.

Within the scope of the testing, the following results are recorded regarding user experience:

  • Expert opinion and documentation of the quality of usability
  • Status quo survey
  • Quick overview of existing usability problems
  • Recommendations for action based on the usage requirements

Following the user experience testing, we are happy to develop concepts for the revision of the software. If necessary, we also carry out further usability tests or accompany customers with a workshop to optimize the user experience design.

  • Appropriateness of the task: The application makes it possible to use the functionality for the efficient fulfilment of a task directly with minimal use of time, training or knowledge.
  • Controllability: The user defines the start and direction of the dialog flow and always has control over the navigation.
  • Self-description: Navigation is always clear and controllable. Orientation points indicate where the user is in the respective workflow.
  • Error tolerance: The dialogue reacts tolerantly to errors and enables easy correction with minimal or no additional effort on the part of the user to produce the work result.
  • Conformity to expectations: The application is consistent and meets the conventions resulting from the usage context, user requirements and task.
  • Individualization: The interaction surfaces and the presentation of information can be adapted to the needs and knowledge of the user.
  • Learning facilitation: The system facilitates the learning of interactions and process steps by guiding the user.

Relaunch: Possible expansion after software testing__

Almato’s experts in app development and UX conduct reviews based on standardized criteria. Customers receive an assessment of the criteria examined and recommendations for optimizing the application. Furthermore, we carry out relaunches for apps, websites, prototypes or individually developed software. Almato offers all the services required for a web or app relaunch, such as strategic consulting, analysis and conception, user interface design, usability and UX, as well as web and app development. If required, operation and hosting of the new digital solution can also be taken over.

In addition, Almato takes on development mandates for various platforms that have already begun. This includes services in the areas of analysis, testing and quality assurance or further development at various development stages of an app or software. Based on proven methods, we assess the current status of the programming both technically and from a project management point of view and design measures for the successful completion of the project.

  • Performance of functional test
  • Execution of detailed error analysis
  • Analysis Crash Reports
  • Development of problem solutions
  • Elimination of errors
  • Source code versioning and management
  • Provision of development infrastructure

Are you interested in software testing?__

Whether apps, prototypes or individual software – the Almato team is at your disposal. Write to us at info@almato.com or call us at +49711 620 30-400.

Just add digital to every release__

Usability und Performance sind entscheidende Kriterien für die Akzeptanz von Interfaces. Vor allem im Consumer-Bereich werden digitale Services nicht weiter genutzt, wenn sie nicht den Anforderungen der Nutzer an Benutzerfreundlichkeit und Leistungsfähigkeit genügen. Auch im B2B-Umfeld hängt die Nutzungsintensität einer Anwendung von der Benutzererfahrung ab. Insbesondere bei Unternehmenssoftware sind der Funktionsumfang und eine effiziente Bedienbarkeit erfolgskritisch und gehören daher zum Qualitätscontrolling unbedingt dazu.

Darum Software-Testing outsourcen

  • Entlastung von Entwicklungsteams und Fokussierung auf die Software-Entwicklung
  • Steigerung der Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit, da das für Entwicklungsteams oft unliebsame Testen von spezialisierten Testern übernommen wird
  • Effizientes Testen durch zertifizierte Experten
  • Testing mittels umfangreichem und stets aktuellem Testgerätepool
  • Externe Qualitätssicherung durch Testing verhindert Betriebsblindheit
  • Qualifizierte Test- und Bug-Reports führen zu schnelleren Releasezyklen

Leistungen im Bereich Software-Testing__

Wichtig für den Erfolg einer mobilen Anwendung ist nicht nur die professionelle App-Entwicklung, sondern auch das Testing von mobilen Apps. Dabei sollte eine App keinesfalls nur vor einem Release, sondern kontinuierlich unter anderem auf Funktionsfähigkeit, Usability, Kompatibilität und Performance unter verschiedenen Bedingungen getestet werden. Dies gilt insbesondere für mobile Software, die gerätespezifische Features wie die Kamerafunktion, Gyroskop, Höhenmessung oder Geolokationsdaten integriert. Bei solchen Apps kann die volle Funktionsfähigkeit häufig nur manuell überprüft werden.

Manuelles Testing ist jedoch aufwändig und erfordert das Vorhalten eines großen und stets aktuellen Gerätepools. Der Einsatz eines externen Testing-Dienstleisters ermöglicht signifikante Effizienzsteigerungen. Bei Almato testen zertifizierte App-Testing-Spezialisten auf allen relevanten Gerätetypen und Betriebssystemen (umfangreicher Gerätepool). Kunden erhalten qualitativ hochwertige und direkt umsetzbare Testergebnisse für ihre Entwicklungsteams.

  • Beratung hinsichtlich der möglichen Testverfahren
  • Testorganisation und -steuerung
  • Erstellung von Testplänen und Testfällen
  • Manuelles Testing
  • Testing mit Emulatoren und virtuellen Geräten
  • Testautomatisierung
  • Crowd-Testing
  • Bereitstellung Testgerätepool (neue und ältere Modelle mit verschiedenen Betriebssystemversionen)
  • ISTQB-zertifizierte Tester mit dem notwendigen Know-how in angrenzenden Themen wie App-Entwicklung und UX-Design
  • Vereinbarung von Service-Levels zur Durchführung von Tests
  • Dokumentation von Fehlern und Verbesserungspotenzialen sowie festgestellten Usability-Problemen und Anmerkungen zu Performance und Kompatibilität

Manuelles App-Testing__

Manuelle Tests

Neben automatisiertem App-Testing unter Einsatz von Emulatoren und Simulatoren bietet das manuelle Testing viele Vorteile. Mobile Lösungen bieten durch den Einsatz gerätespezifischer Funktionen wie Temperatursensoren, Gyroskop, Höhenmessung und Geolokationsdaten einen zusätzlichen Mehrwert. Diese Features können jedoch nur durch manuelles Testing auf ihre tatsächliche Funktionsfähigkeit überprüft werden. Außerdem nehmen unterschiedliche Mobilfunknetze wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Performance und somit die Usability von mobilen Anwendungen.

Komponententest

Testen einzelner Module, Programme, Objekte oder Klassen hinsichtlich funktionaler und nicht-funktionaler Aspekte vor der Implementierung einer Komponente in eine App (Test-Driven-Development). Im Rahmen des Unit Testings werden u.a. Robustheitstests und Tests hinsichtlich der Ressourcenverwendung wie etwa der Speichernutzung durchgeführt. Hierbei kommen erprobte Unittest-Frameworks und Debugging-Werkzeuge zum Einsatz.

Integrationstest

Durchführung von Komponenten- und Systemintegrationstests zur Sicherstellung der Schnittstellenfunktionalität und Überprüfung der reibungslosen Interaktion von einzelnen Komponenten und/oder Systemen wie etwa Betriebssysteme, Datenbanken, Infrastruktur, Konfiguration und Hardware.

Systemtest

Funktionales und nicht-funktionales Testen des Gesamtsystems: In der Regel basieren die Testfälle auf den funktionalen und technischen Spezifikationen sowie den definierten Use Cases der zu testenden App. Hierzu werden sowohl Black-Box-Testentwurfsverfahren zur Überprüfung der funktionalen Anforderungen sowie White-Box-Verfahren zur strukturellen Analyse eingesetzt.

Akzeptanztest

Zur Durchführung des Akzeptanztestes nehmen  Test-Teams die Perspektive der Nutzer ein, um das Gesamtsystem hinsichtlich seiner Gebrauchstauglichkeit zu überprüfen. Anlässe zur Durchführung von Acceptance Tests sind üblicherweise der initiale Rollout, funktionale Erweiterungen oder die Durchführung erfolgt im Rahmen von Komponententests.

Explorativer Test

Die umfangreiche Erfahrung unserer ISTQB-zertifizierten Tester ermöglicht exploratives Testing mobiler Applikationen. Im Rahmen des Error Guessing (intuitive Testfallermittlung) erfolgt nahezu gleichzeitig die Erstellung des Testentwurfs, die Durchführung und Protokollierung. So eignet sich exploratives Testen insbesondere für Entwicklungsprojekte mit hohem Zeitdruck und wenig spezifizierten Anforderungen.

Statischer Test

Neben den Tests an der App selbst führen wir auch statische Analysen wie Reviews (auch im Rahmen von Pair Programming), Walkthroughs oder Inspektionen durch. Diese bieten die Möglichkeit, bereits in der frühen Entwicklungsphase Fehler in Anforderungen, UX-Konzepten oder Codes zu entdecken und zu beheben. Durch ein frühzeitiges Eingreifen können Entwicklungsdauer und -kosten signifikant gesenkt werden. Zu unserem Leistungsspektrum gehören unter anderem die Analyse von Spezifikationen, UX-/UI-Konzepten, Quellcode, Apps und Web-Anwendungen.

Regressionstest

Insbesondere in agilen Projekten gehört die Durchführung von Regressionstests zu unseren Standardverfahren. Durch das wiederholte Testen nach Modifikationen oder dem Debugging wird vorgebeugt, dass keine neuen Fehler entstehen oder bereits existierende Fehler durch die vorgenommenen Anpassungen wirksam werden.

Crowdtesting
  • Umfängliches Testen verschiedenster Betriebssysteme und Gerätetypen mit nahezu kompletter Variantenabdeckung
  • Entwicklung von Testfällen
  • Aufsetzen und Integration der Testumgebung
  • Nutzung von Software-as-a-Service Test-Plattformen sowie bei Bedarf von virtuellen Testing-Teams zur
  • Durchführung des Crowdtesting
  • Dokumentation der Testergebnisse

Testarten__

Digital Enterprise: Alle Elemente zur digitalen Transformation von Almato

Test-Arten (Auszug)

  • Black-Box-Test (u.a. Funktionstest, Kompatibilitätstest, Integrationstest)
  • Code-Review
  • Lasttest/Performance-Test
  • Sicherheits-Test
  • Stresstest
  • Usability-Test (Gebrauchstauglichkeitstest)
  • Usability-Review nach DIN EN ISO 9241-110
  • Wartungstest
  • White-Box-Test
 

UX-Review – Testing der Usability von Software__

Almato analysiert die Effizienz von User Interfaces vor dem Hintergrund der jeweiligen User Journey und Nutzungskontexte von digitalen Produkten. Der systematische Test wird von zertifizierten UX-Experten durchgeführt. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf der Analyse der User Experience für den jeweiligen Einsatzzweck. Das Team arbeitet auf Basis internationaler Standards wie UXQB, UXPA, German UPA und untersucht Apps, Websites, Prototypen oder individuell entwickelte Software. Mit Checklisten und Heuristiken werden gängige Usability-Regeln anhand von 7 Kriterien angewandt und zu testende User Interfaces hinsichtlich der Gestaltung und Gebrauchstauglichkeit überprüft. Im Fokus stehen die Effizienz und Effektivität des digital abgebildeten Prozesses.

Im Rahmen des Testings werden folgende Ergebnisse hinsichtlich User Experience festgehalten:

  • Gutachten und Dokumentation der Qualität der Usability
  • Erhebung des Status quo
  • Schnelle Übersicht vorhandener Usability-Probleme
  • Handlungsempfehlungen auf Basis der Nutzungsanforderungen

Im Anschluss an das Testing hinsichtlich der User Experience erstellen wir gerne Konzepte zur Überarbeitung der Software. Zudem führen wir, falls nötig, weitere Usability-Tests durch oder begleiten Kunden etwa mit einem Workshop zur Optimierung des User Experience Designs.

  • Aufgabenangemessenheit: Die Anwendung ermöglicht es unmittelbar, mit minimalem Einsatz von Zeit, Training oder Wissen die Funktionalität zur effizienten Erfüllung einer Aufgabe zu nutzen.
  • Steuerbarkeit: Der User gibt Start und Richtung des Dialogablaufs vor und hat jederzeit die Kontrolle über die Navigation.
  • Selbstbeschreibungsfähigkeit: Die Navigation ist zu jedem Zeitpunkt klar und beherrschbar. Mittels Orientierungspunkten wird angezeigt, wo sich der User im jeweiligen Workflow befindet.
  • Fehlertoleranz: Der Dialog reagiert tolerant auf Fehler und ermöglicht eine leichte Korrektur mit minimalem oder keinem zusätzlichen Aufwand des Nutzers zur Herstellung des Arbeitsergebnisses.
  • Erwartungskonformität: Die Anwendung ist in sich konsistent und erfüllt die sich aus dem Nutzungskontext, den Nutzeranforderungen und der Aufgabe ergebenden Konventionen.
  • Individualisierbarkeit: Die Interaktionsflächen und die Darstellung von Informationen sind an die Bedürfnisse und Kenntnisse des Benutzers anpassbar.
  • Lernförderlichkeit: Das System erleichtert das Lernen von Interaktionen und Prozess-Schritten durch Anleitung des Benutzers.

Relaunch: Mögliche Erweiterung im Nachgang zum Software-Testing__

Die Almato-Experten für App-Entwicklung und UX führen anhand standardisierter Kriterien Reviews durch. Kunden erhalten eine Einschätzung zu den untersuchten Kriterien sowie Empfehlungen zur Optimierung der Anwendung. Des Weiteren führen wir Relaunchs für Apps, Websites, Prototypen oder individuell entwickelte Software durch. Dabei bietet Almato alle Leistungen, die im Rahmen eines Web- oder App-Relaunchs notwendig sind, wie die strategische Beratung, Analyse und Konzeption, User Interface Design, Usability und UX sowie Web- und App-Entwicklung. Bei Bedarf können auch Betrieb und Hosting der neuen digitalen Lösung übernommen werden.

Des Weiteren übernimmt Almato bereits angefangene Entwicklungsmandate für diverse Plattformen. Dazu gehören Leistungen im Bereich Analyse, Testing und Qualitätssicherung oder der Weiterentwicklung auf unterschiedlichen Entwicklungsständen einer App oder Software. Auf Basis erprobter Methoden erheben wir sowohl technisch als auch aus Projektmanagement-Sicht den aktuellen Status der Programmierung und konzipieren Maßnahmen zum erfolgreichen Abschluss des Projekts.

  • Durchführung Funktionstest
  • Durchführung detaillierte Fehleranalyse
  • Analyse Crash-Reports
  • Erarbeitung von Problemlösungen
  • Beseitigung der Fehler
  • Versionierung und Verwaltung des Quellcodes
  • Bereitstellung Entwicklungsinfrastruktur
Almato Impressum: Redaktion, Bildnachweise und Lizenzen

Sie interessieren Sie sich für Software-Testing?__

Ob Apps, Prototypen oder Individualsoftware – das Almato-Team steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung. Schreiben Sie uns auf info@almato.com oder rufen Sie uns unter +49 7121 14787-0 an.